Seven Churches - GeziBilen

Seven Churches

Seven Churches

Although it is called 'Seven Churches', our sightseeing point, which is not composed of seven churches; It is considered one of Van's oldest historical monuments. The structure; Consists of five churches, a community house (jametun), a bell tower and a library. The entire church complex is called the Varagavank Armenian Monastery. Built in the 8th century, the oldest is the church of St. Sophia. However, only the curved part (apsis) of the altar chamber survived from the structure to the present day. The second oldest building made to this day of the monastery is St. John's Church. This church is adjacent to the northern walls of St. Sophia. St. Sophia and St. John's Churches are in the first group of the complex. The second group forms the core architecture of the structure, the Church of the Holy Virgin Mary, which was completed in 1021. Its exterior architecture has a rectangular plan in the east and west directions. The four-leaf clover figure, which is a symbol of luck and fertility from the past to the present, has been one of the indispensable architectural elements of religious structures. The interior architecture of Seven Churches is planned in accordance with the figure.

Seven ChurchesSeven ChurchesSeven ChurchesSeven Churches



    Our main goal is to contribute to the promotion of countries by explaining the historical, cultural and natural beauties of the countries.

    Google Play Badge
    AppStore Badge
    AppGallery Badge

    Contact Us

    0 (212) 274 2121

    Balmumcu Mah, Bestekar Şevkibey Sk, No:26 Beşiktaş-İstanbul

    • GeziBilen Gezi Noktaları

      2500 Travel Points

      Are you ready to explore 2500 Travel Points?

    • GeziBilen Ülkeler

      Experience in 4 different languages

      Our all content is in Turkish, German, English and Russian

    • GeziBilen Rotalar

      185 Thematic Routes

      Dozens of thematic routes exclusively prepared for each city